RSS

Your Happy Place

11 Sep

First take a minute to remember all those who lost their lives 11 years ago today and pray for our military who defend us from evil.

Now to my blog.

This summer was supposed to be care free, but ended up exhausting leaving me searching for my Happy Place. Since I wasn’t able to find it on a map, I looked elsewhere. I discovered that Happy is directly related to energy. If your energy is low you’re down. So here are a couple ways to boost your energy.

  1. Go for a brisk walk in the sunshine—treadmills don’t count. The walk will get you out of the house and into the fresh air. No matter what time of year, outside will perk you up. And your body will produce some vitamin D.
  2. Listen to upbeat music. Music lifts our spirits. Better yet, download your songs and take them with you on your walk.
  3. Go out with friends. I look forward to my weekly coffee outing. When we’re forced to skip one I really miss the companionship.
  4. If you’ve got a To Do list glaring at you, the unfinished tasks tend to weigh on you. Take them one at a time. If they seem overwhelming break them down into smaller jobs. Clean one room at a time, sort one pile today, or one shelf in the morning and another in the afternoon. Be sure to draw a big (chose your favorite color) line through completed items.
  5. Get organized. This may just be me, but if I’m organized and my area is clean I feel better. I don’t do well with clutter. Straighten a closet, donate all that stuff you no longer wear. Simply walk through the house with a trashcan and start pitching.
  6. Have some fun. Schedule an activity with someone, try a new recipe one night a week, go shopping with a friend, do something you don’t often get to do, or something new.
  7. Challenge yourself. What have you always wanted to do but you keep putting it off? Start on the journey. No matter what it is it will lift your spirits.
  8. Do something for the community. Lots of groups need volunteers. You can paint the house of an elderly person who can’t afford it, in the fall we can rake leave for those same people. Giving makes you feel better.
  9. Shed the guilt. Is there something or someone you’ve been neglecting? Has inattention has gone on so long you feel you can’t mend the rift. Well, it isn’t too late. Your action will brighten someone’s day and lift your mood.
  10. Do a little  something. When you get home tired from work, before you make dinner, to out and talk to a neighbor, walk to the mail box, throw a ball for the dog. You’ll be surprised at the energy you find.

What activities brighten your spirits?

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Blogs, health, stress, writing motivation

 

11 responses to “Your Happy Place

  1. Judith Keim

    September 11, 2012 at 8:44 AM

    Good reminder, Peggy! I do a number of things on your list on a regular basis but the thing I struggle with is the idea of just goofing off without feeling that I could be doing something “productive”. It’s easy to forget that relaxing, sitting around chatting, is a “productive” way of giving yourself a break!! Thanks…

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      September 11, 2012 at 9:14 AM

      Stress can kill your creativity. I’m all for a little companionship and conversation.

       
  2. Liz Fredericks

    September 11, 2012 at 9:04 AM

    Really well-timed blog today, Peggy. Thank you!

     
  3. Peggy Staggs

    September 11, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    We aim to please.

     
  4. maryvine

    September 12, 2012 at 5:57 AM

    This is great advice. I’m sending it to facebook right now. Thanks, Peggy.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      September 12, 2012 at 3:45 PM

      Thanks. It’s important to keep the stress from taking over.

       
  5. Janis McCurry

    September 12, 2012 at 6:58 AM

    Activities with my family and friends. Hearing from my son and/or darling DIL. Movies, books. I usually feel pretty self-indulgent.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      September 12, 2012 at 3:46 PM

      Oooo! Self-indulgent. I like it.

       
  6. Corina Mallory

    September 12, 2012 at 9:51 AM

    All the things on your list are great. I admit I don’t do the “go for a walk” one nearly often enough. Organizing a pile of clutter that’s been bugging me or ticking something off my to do list always gives me a boost. I’m a big procrastinator, so calling myself on that and doing something I’ve put off for ages makes me feel like I can take on the world.

     
  7. Peggy Staggs

    September 12, 2012 at 3:48 PM

    I know how great I feel when those piles of clutter hit the recycle bin. I love my Fitbit, it gets me out of the chair and moving. I can’t let the others beat me step-wise.

     
  8. marsharwest

    September 14, 2012 at 9:33 AM

    Been out of pocket for a time attending Margie Lawson’s Immersion Class. Wow! What a work-out! These are all great ideas, Peggy. When my To-Do list is too long, it’s debilitating. Where to start? I’ll never get it all done. LOL Probably won’t, but chekcing one or two things off relieves the self-imposed pressure. Walking is great, but that can also add a piece of pressure–it’s a time consuming activity. And I’m so not walking outside when it’s 110. here in Texas. Now the mall–that works just fine for getting in my 10,000 steps a day. Thank-you-very-much. Thanks for the post, Peggy, and I look forward to getting to know the blog’s new folks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
