RSS

Introduction

12 Sep

I’m so excited to join the great group of writers on this blog. Let me introduce myself.

I’m a spinster quasi-hermit who spends loads of time reading golden age mysteries and contemporary romance novels while eating baked goods, drinking tea, and petting one of my three cats. Am I blowing your mind with my strict adherence to a certain kind of cliche? That’s ok. Sometimes I too have a hard time believing I’m real. But I am! Every couple of years I fantasize about becoming a volunteer librarian just so I could more perfectly fit this stereotype I’ve embraced.

A fourth generation Idaho native, I managed to escape the state’s gravitational pull for quite a while before returning five years ago to the beautiful small town in the Central Idaho mountains where I was born. In my time away I lived on the Oregon Coast, lived in Chicago, and traveled to some amazing places (Cuba, Italy, Myanmar, and Israel for a start). Most recently, I spent three years in Washington D.C. as an associate at a multinational law firm. As much as I enjoyed many aspects of my life in D.C., both the city and the job were ultimately not for me.

Now I work part-time at a very non-lawyerly job, read genre fiction, and write. The last thing on that list is the reason I was invited to join this blog and it’s still a novelty to me. I’m a writer. I can’t believe I’m not going to be arrested by the truth police every time I say that. (Wait. You say there aren’t truth police patrolling the internet in search of bogus claims and self-serving lies? That explains many many things.) But this is true: I’m a new writer, an unpublished writer, an aspiring writer of dark romantic suspense and funny small town contemporary romances.

Thanks for welcoming me to this community and giving me a space to share the things I learn, the fears I have, and the resources that inspire me. I’m sure we’ll have lots of fun together.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in biography

 

15 responses to “Introduction

  1. Janis McCurry

    September 12, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    Corina, welcome to GSW! With your sense of humor, please tell me you are incorporating it in your books because you’re very funny.🙂 And all of us feel like frauds about writing multiple times during our journey. You’re in good company.

     
    • Corina Mallory

      September 12, 2012 at 9:57 AM

      Thanks Janis! My current WIP is a romantic suspense that started out pretty dark but humor does keep creeping in. It’s all part of finding one’s voice no doubt.

       
  2. Judith Keim

    September 12, 2012 at 9:40 AM

    Hi, Corina! I’m new to the group too and very pleased to be part of it! Writing is an interesting journey in itself and it will be fun to share it with you!

     
    • Corina Mallory

      September 12, 2012 at 9:58 AM

      I can’t wait to get to know you better Judith! This really is a wonderful group of people.

       
  3. lizkflaherty

    September 12, 2012 at 1:13 PM

    HI, Corina. I enjoy this blog so much and look forward to reading more from you.

     
  4. stephanieberget

    September 12, 2012 at 1:42 PM

    Hi Corina, welcome to the group.Great post.

     
  5. maryvine

    September 12, 2012 at 2:18 PM

    I like your picture, Corina. I think if your story here was written on the back of a book, I’d pick it up and buy it. Welcome!

     
    • Corina Mallory

      September 12, 2012 at 7:04 PM

      Thanks Mary!

       
  6. ramblingsfromtheleft

    September 12, 2012 at 5:42 PM

    Hi Corina … welcome to GSW … a great group of talented folks … and you of couse cannot be an exception. Love this post and can’t wait to know more about you🙂

     
    • Corina Mallory

      September 12, 2012 at 7:05 PM

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to becoming a part of the community these writers have built. It’s an honor.

       
  7. Liz Fredericks

    September 14, 2012 at 7:45 AM

    Corina – sorry I’m late to the postings, but let me echo my ‘welcome’ as well. The emerging GSW community is very supportive and very knowledgeable about writing (and life).

     
  8. Peggy Staggs

    September 14, 2012 at 9:29 AM

    Corina, welcome. You got my attention with the mysteries and baked goods. Sounds perfect to me! Glad you’ve joined us.

     
  9. marsharwest

    September 14, 2012 at 9:40 AM

    Nice to meet you, Corina. Been out of town (Margie Lawson Immersion Class–can’t recommend too highly–jeez, I’m afraid that’s a cliche!) Reading the posts out of order. I’m a frequent visitor. Not pubbed. Write romantic suspense with older characters as the H & H. Yeah, I’m thinkin’ your story could be a story. Look forward to getting to know you better.

     
  10. Clarissa Southwick

    September 17, 2012 at 6:00 PM

    Welcome to the group, Corina. I’m so glad you decided to join us🙂

     
  11. Lynn Mapp

    September 17, 2012 at 8:42 PM

    Corina, welcome! I look forward to reading your blogs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
