RSS

Do You Have 30 Seconds?

09 Oct

Recently, I went to Barnes and Noble. I know–a writer in a book store. Wow, what a surprise. What caught my eye on this trip was a whole series of what looked like books wrapped in plain brown wrappers. What could be more intriguing?

I have to confess I love the bargain books. Oh, sure I hit all the new releases, and the genre sections, but I always end up in the bargain books. The collage of subjects is almost overwhelming. There are magic kits, origami kits, books on just about everything, and old releases.

On this trip, the brown wrapped volumes drew my attention. The first one I picked up was “30-Second Theories.” I thought, I can spare 30 seconds. I opened the book and found it contained all the important theories in Physics, Psychology, Evolution, the Universe, and Knowledge. Each theory is set up in the same format. A 3-Second Thrash, a 30-second theory, and a 3-minute thought, a brief explanation, related theories, and a 3-second biography. Each topic is written by an expert and only takes a few minutes to read. It’s like a teaser to a movie. It gives you enough information to whet your imagination.

The series contained all sorts of topics from Anatomy to Theories. I got three. I’m a sucker for books. The 30-Second Theories, 30-Second Politics, and 30-Second Mythology. The first two are for me because I love science and politics. I was probably a geek in a former life. And the Mythology is for story inspiration.

My plan is to go through the 30-Second book, pick out a myth that intrigues me, and do more research on it as the theme for a book.

What do you use to get your imagination jump-started? Is it books, a walk, or something else?

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2012 in Blogs, imagination, inspiration, research, writing

 

17 responses to “Do You Have 30 Seconds?

  1. Meredith Conner

    October 9, 2012 at 8:13 AM

    Oooohh! We need to go to a bookstore together Peg! I am totally with you on the bargain section. I love to browse through and see what they have. I’ll have to plan a trip to Barnes and Noble – these trips always take planning since I end up spending a minimum of an hour browsing. These books sound fascinating.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 9, 2012 at 9:12 AM

      They’re great. I know what you mean about time spent in B&N. If given a chance I’ll be there for hours. BTW, we have a very nice B&N here.

       
  2. Stephanie Berget

    October 9, 2012 at 8:38 AM

    What great books. I’ll have to make a trip to B&N.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 9, 2012 at 9:13 AM

      I love when I can get a taste of something. Then if I like it I can get a bigger book.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    October 9, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    My bargain books downfall is cookbooks. They have such pretty pictures. I always end up getting one. I had so many I’ve instituted a “buy one, give away one” edict for my addiction.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 9, 2012 at 9:16 AM

      My only problem with the “buy one, give away one” is the give away part. I thought I had it solved in the new house with a whole bookcase in the kitchen. Sigh, it filled up too.

       
  4. Judith Keim

    October 9, 2012 at 9:27 AM

    Peggy, what a great source for inspiration! Going to B& N or any other book store is for me like going to a candy store might be for others. I want to see, read, touch, smell new and old titles. And the bargain books are the grabber for me. Can’t walk out without at least a couple of them…

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 9, 2012 at 9:34 AM

      I know what you mean. My biggest problem is shelf space.

       
  5. Jerrie Alexander

    October 9, 2012 at 9:40 AM

    I love spending time in B&N. My granddaughter reads, well, devours books. We can go in a bookstore and spend hours. She’s not a cheap date! And we always dig through the bargain books looking for that special find.

    A lot of my ideas come when I walking, but I’ve had a few good ideas while sitting at the doctor’s office!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 9, 2012 at 5:01 PM

      It’s great to have a bookstore buddy. Keep her reading.

       
  6. Clarissa Southwick

    October 9, 2012 at 1:57 PM

    I love the bargain section too and I’ve seen those 30 second books. Great topic. Great post.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 9, 2012 at 5:02 PM

      Great way to add a just enough knowledge to be dangerous.

       
  7. Liz Fredericks

    October 9, 2012 at 4:24 PM

    This is a great resource! Now I know where to look . . . have always avoided the brown paper wrapper books in the past LOL.

     
  8. Lynn Mapp

    October 9, 2012 at 7:14 PM

    I love book stores! Sadly, I now whip in and whip out. I need to slow down and enjoy the visit.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 10, 2012 at 12:40 PM

      Maybe this weekend we can take a tour of B&N.

       
  9. lizkflaherty

    October 10, 2012 at 8:13 PM

    My nearest bookstore is 45 minutes away–it’s a real road trip to go! But I love the bargain tables!

     

Leave a Reply

 
