RSS

A Corner of One’s Own

07 Nov

I’m lucky enough to live by myself. No husband, no kids, no roommate, nobody to distract me from my writing but my cats and the occasional unwanted visit from my neighbors. For the last year I’ve written wherever I felt like writing, moving between soft surfaces like the bed, the couch, and my favorite chair by the fire whenever I needed a change of scenery. But I recently decided I need a dedicated writing space. (Well, ‘need’ is putting it awfully strongly. It’s more that I came to the conclusion it might be kind of nice and writerly of me to have a spot just for crafting brilliant fiction.)

It’s kind of a fantasy of every writer isn’t it? A beautiful room where you can shut the door and work on your craft – what a dream. My reality will be much more modest: a small table and comfortable desk chair in a corner of my dining room, a shelf (or two, or three) for my craft books and files, and a bulletin board on display for plotting charts and inspirational photos. Even though my vision is reasonable, it will take me awhile to make this space what I want it to be. (A finished novel isn’t the only goal toward which I move at a snail’s pace.) But I’m having fun pulling the pieces together, agonizing over a dozen pale grey paint swatches, and browsing Pinterest for ideas. (If you want to drool over some amazing spaces, just run searches on “home library” or “home office”.)

Where do you write? Do you have a room or nook set aside or do you just curl up with a laptop or pad of paper wherever the muse strikes? I’d love to hear about your ultimate home library/office fantasy or what you have now that works for you.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in Idaho, writing

 

7 responses to “A Corner of One’s Own

  1. Amberly Smith

    November 7, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    I share an office with my family so it is always chaos. I work with headphones on and pandora playing in the back ground. Occasionally I’ll opt for working at a coffee shop.

     
  2. Janis McCurry

    November 7, 2012 at 9:03 AM

    I made a lovely office in a bedroom at the back of the house. The problem was it was a lovely office in the back of the house. Too quiet and removed from noise. I now work in the living room at the coffee table with the TV on. Not sure what to make of that….

     
  3. stephanieberget

    November 7, 2012 at 10:27 AM

    I just finished making a room my own. I love the space, but I find, like Janis, I tend to write in the livingroom or family room.

     
  4. maryvine

    November 7, 2012 at 3:02 PM

    At one time I really wanted an office/library mix. I had one for about 3 1/2 years. It worked great then. But I find that I don’t miss it now, because I have a laptop and I look for the most comfortable seat in the house-a recliner in the living room. I’ve been in this house for a year and a half and I haven’t sat down at my desk to write at.

     
  5. Judith Keim

    November 7, 2012 at 3:08 PM

    I’m lucky enough to have a small office in our small house. I treat it like a real office, sitting at my computer and writing, dog at my feet. My husband’s office is across the hallway and when it gets too quiet or I need a pause, we can shout back and forth, though we have been known to send each other emails even though we can practically see each other! LOL

     
  6. Lynn Mapp

    November 7, 2012 at 8:35 PM

    I have a spare bedroom/guest room for my office space. While my mother was with me for a month it was her space. It’s a work in progress. It needs to organized. Hence, a work in progress title.

     
  7. Clarissa Southwick

    November 8, 2012 at 7:02 AM

    I write in my dining room. Obviously, I need to work on this! Thanks for a great blog. You’ve got me thinking…

     

Leave a Reply

 
