RSS

Lessons From the Academy Awards

25 Feb

It happened on Sunday night, the Academy Awards aired.  I could say that I watched with breathless anticipation, but I won’t.  I was averaging grades and the show was background noise.

I did give my complete attention to the musical numbers.  I’m a Jennifer Hudson fan.  There was no way, I’m tell-ing you, no way, no-no-no-no way, she didn’t hold my complete attention.

By the time the show was winding down, I was done with my grades, therefore, able to attend to the program.

I saw the grace Jennifer Lawrence showed after her stumble.  I fell in my classroom last week.  There is the sensation of falling through space.  You struggle to regain your balance, but to no avail.  My face plant was done in front of sixty-four eyes.  My fall didn’t play to millions of viewers.  Miss Lawrence got up, and made her acceptance speech.  She even acknowledged her fall, making a joke of it.  That’s grace under pressure.

I saw Grant Heslov, George Clooney, and Ben Affleck accept the Oscar for Best Motion picture.  Affleck’s emotional speech touched me.  He spoke of working harder than you think possible.  When you get knocked down, you gotta get up.

“Making it” in Hollywood takes work.  You have to have a thick skin.  You need to believe in yourself, in your talent.

These are the same tools of our trade.

Work harder than you believe is possible.

When you get knocked down, dust yourself off, and get up.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in Idaho

 

12 responses to “Lessons From the Academy Awards

  1. Janis McCurry

    February 26, 2013 at 7:05 AM

    Excellent points! Able to be applied to life, in general, I believe.😉

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 26, 2013 at 8:29 PM

      We’ve got to take the lessons where we find them.

       
  2. Judith Keim

    February 26, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    Lynn, loved your reminders about what it takes to be a writer! It’s a tough, tough, business! Writers I know do it because they can’t “not do it”!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 26, 2013 at 8:31 PM

      Judith, I agree. You know there are some very gifted writers that have walked away. It’s a tough business.

       
  3. stephanieberget

    February 26, 2013 at 7:54 AM

    Hope you weren’t hurt. “Work harder than you thought possible.” Excellent advice for anyone who wants to become good at anything.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 26, 2013 at 8:35 PM

      I was able to get up without the help of my students. As I was passing a students’ desk she pushed her chair out, and in the process, tripped me. I made a joke out of it. The poor little girl felt horrible. I told her it was funny. She said it wasn’t. A week later she was still saying she was sorry. I told her it was funny. She leaned close and whispered that it was funny, but she still felt bad.
      We both laughed.

       
  4. marsharwest

    February 26, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    Good post. I sympathize with your fall, Lynn. This was years ago, teaching theatre, and class was on a stage. I stepped into the covered footlights section. They were always locked. Well, not in this case. Foot went through, I went down. Couldn’t get up by myself because my foot was lodged. After their first stunned silence, the kids came to help. An vice principal took me to an emergency care place. My right ankle has a dent in it to this day. The blessed thing was that I didn’t go over the side of the stage. I might not be sitting here today, recounting the story. Wow! Haven’t thought of that in years. The memory jumped full blown at your words. Certainly hope your fall was not so serious. After the first nervous titter, I bet your kids helped.
    And yes, the only way to succeed is to keep on keeping on.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 26, 2013 at 8:38 PM

      Marsha, very few people know the danger involved in teaching. I have thirty-two students in my class. This sweet little girl moved her chair as I was passing, and my feet were no longer planted on the ground. I was an experience the student and I will always remember.
      I’m fine.

       
      • marsharwest

        February 26, 2013 at 10:15 PM

        Glad to know you weren’t seriously hurt, Lynn. Thanks for what you do in the classroom every day!

         
  5. Lynn Mapp

    February 27, 2013 at 7:16 PM

    Marsha…

     
  6. maryvine

    February 28, 2013 at 5:33 PM

    I’m glad you weren’t hurt. When your student recovers from the guilt, she’ll have a good story to tell over the years, I suppose. Thanks for giving us something inspiring from the Oscars.

     
  7. Jennifer

    March 1, 2013 at 2:12 PM

    I always love reading an inspirational blog! Thanks Lynn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
