RSS

Another Reason to Buy an E-book

19 Mar

Recently, my husband said I should get a new Kindle Fire, the one with the larger screen and the capability to be online anywhere with a reasonable distance to a cell tower. I knew phones could do that, of course, but I didn’t know a tablet could, so in a few days I held one in my hand. The 4G Kindle Fire takes a little time to get used to, at least for me, but once I have it figured out I should be able to do just about anything with it.

At work, I looked for some vocabulary curriculum that I could use with my high school students, and came across a reading comprehension sheet from Read Theory, LLC. The paper didn’t have a title or a mention of the author who wrote it, but it was about books becoming relics, and how e-readers are superior. Obviously it was a persuasion essay, and I’m not here to tell you to throw away your books. I will always love an actual book I can hold in my hand, too.

I have heard several of the author’s arguments before, but one thing really opened my eyes. E-books are environmentally friendly. Of course they are, I have no argument with that. Further he/she stated how many trees it took to print a book.

80,000 pieces of paper in a tree.

If your book is 300 pages long, printed 1000 times, it will take 4 trees.

If your book is a bestseller, selling 20,000 copies a week, it will take over 300 trees per month.

If you are J.K Rowling, with the Harry Potter series, you have sold 450 million copies and have used 2 million trees to print your books.

So, here is another reason to buy E-books. I, personally, love trees and am rethinking the value of a book held in my hand.

http://www.maryvine.com

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2013 in 4G Kindle Fire, books, ebook, readers, reading, values

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Another Reason to Buy an E-book

  1. Janis McCurry

    March 19, 2013 at 7:02 AM

    A valid point. I, too, still read traditional print books as well as those on my iPad. If anyone watches science fiction futuristic shows, it’s not a stretch to think trees may become obsolete.

     
    • maryvine

      March 19, 2013 at 5:08 PM

      For those who have had traditional books all of their lives, it takes awhile to get used to, and enjoy e-books. At least for me, anyway. Thanks, Janis.

       
  2. Judith Keim

    March 19, 2013 at 8:04 AM

    Good post and good point. I think it’s inevitable that e-books will end up being the main source of reading in the future. The point about trees is valid – I’ve been watching the movie The Lorax with my grandchildren and no doubt about it, a world without trees is awful!

     
    • maryvine

      March 19, 2013 at 5:06 PM

      Thanks, Judith. I think if I was JK Rowling, I’d be using some of my earnings to plant some more trees🙂

       
  3. Stephanie Berget (@StephanieBerget)

    March 19, 2013 at 8:15 AM

    I knew e books were greener, but the numbers of trees it takes to make books in astounding. And thanks, I didn’t know the new Kindle Fire could be online like a phone. I’ll have to start saving my money.

     
    • maryvine

      March 19, 2013 at 4:47 PM

      Make sure it’s the 4G one, Steph.

       
  4. Peggy Staggs

    March 19, 2013 at 8:24 AM

    I hear you. I love trees and I love my Kindle paper white. (I got my husband and son Fires for Christmas. They love them. I was led astray by a salesman so they didn’t get the big ones. Sigh.) There is only one type of book I’d never get on my Kindle and that’s a reference book. I haven’t figured out how to scribble in the margins and mark things with sticky notes on my Kindle…yet.

     
    • maryvine

      March 19, 2013 at 4:50 PM

      Peggy – I do have a couple of reference books on my Kindle and I’ve enjoyed having them right there when I’m writing and don’t have to lug the actual books around. I guess I still hear my mother say, “Don’t write in your books.”🙂

       
  5. Corina Mallory

    March 19, 2013 at 8:59 AM

    Electronics have some pretty serious environmental costs too, especially when it comes to device disposal, but man I love my e–books. And Peggy, I’m right there with you on the reference books. I just can’t really get into them in e-format.

     
    • maryvine

      March 19, 2013 at 4:52 PM

      Corina – Good point about the environmental costs as well.

       
  6. marsharwest

    March 19, 2013 at 3:22 PM

    Yes, sigh, the life of the “real” book like newspapers is probably limited. Love my Nook, makes reading so easy. I can see every word without eye-strain. But I know I wish my first book coming out in the summer were coming out in print at same time as the e-format.
    As more of the baby boomers age, the e-book will become more important. However, if we go far enough into the future, the docs will probably just clone us knew eyes! Well, I know I’ve heard Dr. Oz talk about how “they” can clone organs.🙂
    At any rate, I’m glad to know the stats on the trees, Mary. We can’t lose the trees, but I guess we can lose the print book. Cornia, I’m with you and Peggy, not for research. LOL But maybe we’ll get there too Anything is possible. Good post, Mary

     
  7. maryvine

    March 19, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    Thanks, Marsha. My books came out in print and e-book formats, and I’m so glad that I have the print version.

     
  8. Lynn Mapp

    March 19, 2013 at 8:56 PM

    I know it’s coming, but…I still want a book.

     
  9. Phyllis Ring

    March 20, 2013 at 9:39 AM

    Really thoughtful post, thanks. Perhaps we’ll find a different balance that consumes fewer trees, at least.

     
  10. Jennifer

    March 20, 2013 at 2:35 PM

    Very interesting about all of those trees. I never thought of the environmental value of an ereader before. Love my Kindle Fire!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
