RSS

Cookies and the Book Sale

04 Apr

As many of you here know, I recently sold my first book, Drift (details here).  Unsurprisingly, there’s been happy celebrating at my house, mostly in the form of tasty baked goods.  Good occasions call for good treats!

Despite a bounteous number of cookies, my day-to-day is largely the same.  I outline.  I write.  I revise.  I critique with my writer’s group.  I submit short stories.  All those skills and habits I’ve worked so diligently to develop are still used and improved upon.

But I write because I love writing.  I love tearing up a first draft into something semi-coherent.  I love line-editing and polishing later drafts into smooth prose.

Of course I’m excited for the day my book comes out.  I’m thrilled that I’ll be able to tell readers where to find it.  More celebratory delights will certainly face the awesome caramelizing power of a 350-degree oven and meet their doom of milk and gnashing teeth shortly thereafter.

But today?  Today I’m excited to dive into chapter three of a brand-new manuscript and wrestle out that next plot point.  Tomorrow I’ll be excited about chapter four.  And sometime down the road, I’ll be excited about streamlining the prose and marching through line edits.

What are you excited about writing today?

 

9 responses to “Cookies and the Book Sale

  1. Judith Keim

    April 4, 2013 at 7:29 AM

    I love that you love the writing process. I have to admit I don’t always like the nitty gritty of carrying the plot through to the end. Love the idea, the beginning, the end. But the middle? Not so much. Today, I’m excited because I know how I’m going forward from the middle of a complete rewrite. It’s always nice to know where you’re going? Yes? LOL

     
  2. Janis McCurry

    April 4, 2013 at 8:23 AM

    I get excited about writing when the scene takes over and goes unexpected places.

     
  3. maryvine

    April 4, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    Major congrats to you, Mk! I celebrate anything special at Dairy Queen with a pecan mud slide. I am happy today because even though I am very busy I have a story running through my head.

     
  4. marsharwest

    April 4, 2013 at 2:51 PM

    Congrats, MK. I’m so happy for you. I love how you celebrate with baking. I don’t do that much anymore, but a good glass of wine lifted high suffices.🙂 Well, I’m happy today, because I’ve mostly stayed off the internet yesterday and today. (I said mostly.) Because I’ve given myself till Monday to return my first set of edits on my first book, VERMONT ESCAPE, coming out this summer. I’m making progress and at this point am optimistic I might even get it in earlier. Love y’all’s blog. I almost always stop by.

     
  5. Lynn Mapp

    April 4, 2013 at 8:36 PM

    MK. I am thrilled for you. Your blog was an important reminder. We write for the joy it brings. Thank you.

     
  6. Clarissa Southwick

    April 5, 2013 at 7:43 AM

    Congratulations on the big sale, MK! I’m so happy for you🙂

     
  7. Peggy Staggs

    April 5, 2013 at 8:52 AM

    I too, love the process…when it’s going well.
    Congratulations on your sale.

     
  8. mkhutchins

    April 7, 2013 at 11:19 PM

    Thanks everyone! I love hearing all the ways people celebrate, and everything that people are excited about.🙂

     
  9. Stephanie Berget (@StephanieBerget)

    April 8, 2013 at 9:39 AM

    Sorry I’m so late, MK. Congratulations on the book and the cookies.

     

Leave a Reply

 
