RSS

The Power of Spring

11 Apr

I don’t know about you, but from the moment Valentine’s Day was over, I waited and hoped for spring.  After living in the South for many years, it was difficult to see late snow, feel the cold wind and wonder when warmer weather would arrive.

Image

 Now that we’ve had temperatures in the 60’s and 70’s, I’m embracing the warmer weather and enjoying the real signs of spring. There is something about the freshness of the season that fills me with contentment and purpose. I look at the tender green leaves coming out, the daffodils bobbing in the breeze, the yellow forsythia blooms and my heart squeezes with joy at being part of such renewed life. Oh, I know spring will lead to summer, when most people will complain it’s too hot, but I savor each spring day.

 Enjoying this change of season has reminded me to slow down and enjoy each day with the same excitement and possibilities that new spring days bring. And, as usual, my thoughts turn to writing and I wonder how to make readers feel emotions and excitement to the degree I sometimes feel them. It’s one of the many challenges of writing. So, when I struggle with it, I’ll try to remember the powerful emotions I feel when spring finally arrives.

How about you? What do you do to inject emotion in your stories?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2013 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “The Power of Spring

  1. Janis McCurry

    April 11, 2013 at 9:48 AM

    Hmm, try to put myself in the character’s place. How would I feel? How would I react?

     
    • Judith Keim

      April 11, 2013 at 2:28 PM

      Good, Janis! It’s fun to set up different scenarios and add emotions to them. I try to think of some experiences that are very different from my own and then I have to work at how I’d feel. Especially with fantasy. But I have to admit some of my characters have more courage than I do!

       
  2. maryvine

    April 11, 2013 at 11:28 AM

    I think I’m like Janis, I have to feel it by putting myself in their place-at least for the heroine. However, a song can inspire me.

     
  3. Judith Keim

    April 11, 2013 at 2:29 PM

    Songs inspire me too. I have a few CD’s I play when I’m creating that seem to allow my mind to open up…

     
  4. Corina Mallory

    April 11, 2013 at 3:08 PM

    Well, to make readers feel emotion while reading … that’s the real trick to writing isn’t it? If I had the answer I’d be a much better writer than I am! Thinking about what makes *me* feel emotion as a reader, it’s almost always because I’ve been made to want good things for a character, so when the inevitable conflicts and disasters arise they hurt. I think it really comes down to creating well-rounded characters that feel real. Then, when you make them suffer (or soar) the reader should follow along as well. How do we do that? I think you’re right about really looking at our own emotions and triggers and life experiences. That’s where everything comes from.

     
    • Judith Keim

      April 11, 2013 at 3:23 PM

      Corina, I have the same problem with conflict. I’ve been caught way too often being too kind to my characters and that is BORING! The trick is to have enough conflict to build tension and keep the tension going. It provides a lot more opportunity for a variety of emotions if the conflicts aren’t resolved too quickly.

       
  5. Peggy Staggs

    April 11, 2013 at 3:17 PM

    I’m always in the head of the person who’s speaking. It gets a little confusing in my head when there are three people in the conversation.

     
  6. Amity Grays

    April 11, 2013 at 7:56 PM

    There’s always some emotion in conversation even if it’s merely indifference. So watching others in conversation, noting their stance, expression, gestures, It’s fun to try and find the perfect words to describe what you see. I love it when I find a unique quirk that can define a character in a specific mood.

     
    • Judith Keim

      April 11, 2013 at 9:11 PM

      Great, Amity! I bet you’ve got a number of unique words to use…I get lazy sometimes and use a common word when I know if I thought about it longer, I could find a better one.

       
  7. Lynn Mapp

    April 11, 2013 at 8:04 PM

    Emotion. Emotion? Emotion! You asked a difficult question. I’ve taken the Margie Lawson class on empowering Character’s Emotions. Someone coined the phrase,Pink Stinks, meaning adding that emotion can be tough going.
    I keep working. I think I’m showing growth.

     
    • Judith Keim

      April 11, 2013 at 9:12 PM

      Lynn, I’m sure you’re showing growth. Do we ever stop growing? It’s such a long process…

       
  8. Stephanie Berget (@StephanieBerget)

    April 11, 2013 at 8:05 PM

    Judy, thanks for the forsythia picture. It’s my first sign of spring. I’m learning to put more emotion in my characters, mostly by being in the scene. Great post.

     
    • Judith Keim

      April 11, 2013 at 9:15 PM

      Thanks, Stephanie. I try to put myself in the scene and not only what emotions I’ve had, but what I’ve witnessed and make it truly the character’s. I sometimes have to remind myself to slow down and live that moment in the story and make it more powerful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
