RSS

The Colors of Life

30 Apr

I’ve been enjoying Spring in Boise. It reminds me very much of Springtime in Atlanta, Georgia, where Bradford pear trees bloom white and cherry trees bloom a stunning pink, similar to the ones along Park Center Drive and elsewhere here in Boise. Here, the foot hills inch their way into green and Willow trees droop in pale green, displaying their newness.

My husband and I have moved a lot and have lived in many different places and we’ve found beauty everywhere. I believe that no matter where people live or in what time period—from cave man’s society to ours—there’s something about us humans that makes us strive to find meaning and beauty in our lives.

My husband recently worked on a study for the state government of Wyoming, assessing various state parks. He was blown away by some of the things he saw. He was especially excited to show me pictures of petroglyphs, because in one of my middle-grade fantasies, the kids discover these primitive drawings in a cave and begin to understand the meaning behind them.

Because we’re “foodies” we find great pleasure in creating tasty, colorful meals and sharing them with others—a creation of another kind.

I find music is a wonderful balm to the end of a busy day.

And what person, like me, doesn’t love to stretch out on a lazy, rainy day with a story?

From colors to flowers, to food, to art, to music, to the written word, these are things to enjoy. What “colors” do you add to your life? To your writing?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2013 in Idaho

 

11 responses to “The Colors of Life

  1. Janis McCurry

    April 30, 2013 at 11:05 AM

    This is a hard question for me to answer. I’ve been thinking of my response since I read this blog 4 hours ago. Truthfully, I don’t think of colors in my life. I’d say it’s my family. There is not a day goes by that I’m not in touch with one of them in some way. They are like the air that I breathe.

     
    • Judith Keim

      May 2, 2013 at 12:21 PM

      Love your reply Janis! Family is so important to me, also. Am presently in Post Falls with my grandson who just had ear surgery….

       
  2. marsharwest

    April 30, 2013 at 5:10 PM

    Gee, Judith, I’m so busy right now, it’s hard to stop and think about the colors. Obviously, family and friends. I love the smell of new mown grass, even while I realize I’ll pay for the enjoyment with a stuffy nose! The joy of seeing one of the grands make a discovery! That’s hard to beat. You didn’t really say this, but it strikes me you’re talking about stopping to smell the roses. Thanks for the reminder.

     
    • Judith Keim

      May 2, 2013 at 12:22 PM

      Yes…I’m talking about pausing to enjoy things and to take joy out of simple pleasures that add to your life!

       
  3. stephanieberget

    April 30, 2013 at 6:55 PM

    This is a timely blog for me. Flowers are one of my colors and wildlife. We discovered today that the pale gray bird that’s been visiting us daily is an adult Northern Harrier, a fairly rare bird from the hawk family. We had a red fox hang around for a few weeks and Lilacs, my favorite flower. Thanks for reminding me to enjoy them.

     
    • Judith Keim

      May 2, 2013 at 12:22 PM

      Thanks, Stephanie! Glad you add those simple pleasures or “colors” to your life!

       
  4. Peggy Staggs

    May 1, 2013 at 9:00 AM

    When we built our new house I got a greenhouse. I love my greenhouse. In the winder I look out the kitchen window past the snow and there sitting on a table I see my geraniums in full bloom. My friend and I are walking in the foothills as much as possible. Right now the flowers are in bloom. It’s wonderful to come around a corner and find yellow daisies waiting for you.
    In my writing I’m always looking at color. Using the right color can set the mood of a scene. Very useful.

     
    • Judith Keim

      May 2, 2013 at 12:24 PM

      Love it, Peggy! And Love the idea of lucky you being able to see colorful flowers growing all year long, especially in winter!

       
  5. Lynn Mapp

    May 1, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    You have asked a tough question. This is an area I work to include in my writing. It isn’t something that comes naturally. There is always something to work on, isn’t there?

     
    • Judith Keim

      May 2, 2013 at 12:24 PM

      I love finding new ways to look at things…

       
  6. maryvine

    May 2, 2013 at 11:18 AM

    I think everything you said, plus animals and wooded areas and how about a creek rushing along over rocks of various sizes? I liked this blog-I felt it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
