RSS

Boring

11 Jun

When I get a pedi, I want a neutral color.  I like to say that I am boring.  I have had enough drama in my life.  I seek boring.  I appreciate boring.  I embrace boring.

That’s my problem…as a writer.

In real life, it’s okay to live a boring life.  Do you know why?  It’s never really boring.  There is always something going on.

My appreciation of boring creates problems in my writing.  I don’t want to torture my characters.

Hello, my name is Lynn, and I hate to throw wrenches at the characters I create.  Wrenches are heavy and they can inflict a lot of damage if someone takes a direct hit.

For many years I was in denial.  It took a long time for me to realize I suffered from the dreaded disease, protective characteritis. 

You know the commercial, the mother jumps out on the gym floor and stands directly in front of her son and knocks balls away.  While doing this she says, “Don’t worry, Mommy’s here.”


You can’t do that if you are creating a fully developed person.  While I have admitted this on several occasions, it will be a lifelong struggle. Even now, I’m having a problem throwing problems in my people’s path.

What problems do you face with your writing and what are you doing to overcome the issue?

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “Boring

  1. Janis McCurry

    June 11, 2013 at 7:01 AM

    I’ve always thought my problem is that it’s hard for me not to use common sense. If a character I adore has a dilemma, I can’t imagine her/him doing something stupid. I get wrong choices, but stupid or not logical is hard for me. My mantra seems to be “that doesn’t make sense.”

    In my head, I know people do stupid things under stress they wouldn’t normally do. But, my beloved characters? How could they! 🙂

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 11, 2013 at 9:07 PM

      Janis, you understand my problem. I also have a problem with my people being hurtful. I know it happens all the time, but I want my people to be mindful of others. I need to get over it.

       
    • Corina Mallory

      June 14, 2013 at 8:42 AM

      I have the same problem. I want my characters to be reasonable and smart. But I’ve convinced myself it’s not a problem. I can still have my characters make mistakes without being stupid. People (sometimes) make the wrong choices not just because they’re not sensible, but because they don’t have the right information, or because circumstances change quickly and what was the right call when the character made it suddenly is the worst thing to do. And sometimes even the sensible choice can lead to horrible outcomes because there just is no ‘good’ choice to be made. Embrace common sense Janis and torture your characters anyway!

       
  2. Judith KeimJ

    June 11, 2013 at 8:26 AM

    Lynn, Love your blog! I have the same disease, too, though I’m on the road to recovery (I think). It has become a fun game to wonder what my characters would do with another problem added on to those original ones. It’s also fun to help them solve the problems. Sometimes, I’m very glad I don’t have their problems!! LOL

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 11, 2013 at 9:08 PM

      Judith, I am still working on my issue. I try, but twisting them into knots will be an ongoing struggle.

       
  3. Jennifer

    June 11, 2013 at 8:32 AM

    lol! I have the same issue Lynn. I keep telling myself that my characters will be better people because of all they’ve been through. I haven’t totally convinced myself yet though.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 11, 2013 at 9:10 PM

      Jennifer, I am glad I am not alone with this issue. With a lot of talk with people that share my issue, I may be able to overcome this.

       
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 27, 2013 at 1:56 PM

      Hey Jenn, it is really difficult to do this.

       
  4. maryvine

    June 11, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    I think over the years, my heroines are getting tougher. It took me a long time to realize that girls have any muscle or strength as compared to men. It helps me to read about, or see kick ass kind of gals (TV) and I want my girls to be like that, too. And, yes, it sometimes takes hardships to make our characters that way, but just like humans we CAN get better with the experience and the difficulties that we have faced.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 11, 2013 at 9:11 PM

      Mary, keep talking to me about this.

       
  5. stephanieberget

    June 11, 2013 at 4:39 PM

    Ah yes, another case of protective characteritis. You’re the one who told me I had to be tougher on my characters. Love this post.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 11, 2013 at 9:12 PM

      I did? Really? I like that about me. Now, I need to do it.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    June 19, 2013 at 8:38 AM

    Your strength is your humor.
    I too long for a boring life. Boring never seems to visit my house.

     

Leave a Reply

 
