RSS

Writing Everyday

02 Jul

I was flipping through the June 2013 edition of Woman’s Day magazine the other day and saw a short article called, Team Support by Debbie Dehler. She says, “You don’t go from couch potato to completing a race in a day. It’s regularly setting small, realistic goals that gets you to the finish line.” Sure this is all about diet and exercise, but it also applies to other goals as well. In my case, writing goals.

This month I participated in NEW/100. As far as I know, NEW/100 started in a writing group I belong to. NEW means No Excuses Writing, and the 100 stands for at least 100 new words per day. At the end of the day (or when you can) the word count is posted on the loop with NEW/100 in the subject line so that those who aren’t interested can delete the email if they choose.

Yes, in NEW/100, others are expecting us to get our word count in, which gives us the motivation to get those 100 words done and posted. Being accountable to another has helped me start or continue my writing project and for me it’s starting small and continuing until I reach my goal. For me 100 words a day is doable. 100 words is better than writing nothing at all and the words add up. This month I totaled 7,045 new words.

I know that there are additional online supports out there as well. I’ve seen 100 words in 100 days and you can only miss one day. I’ve seen 200 and 500 words sites as well. I wouldn’t be surprised to see a 1k words a day competition.
One of these challenges just may work for you. Slow and steady wins the race.

http://www.maryvine.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Writing Everyday

  1. Lynn Mapp

    July 2, 2013 at 7:28 AM

    You are correct! There is a great deal to be said about slow and steady. Great job!

     
  2. Stephanie Berget

    July 2, 2013 at 8:15 AM

    Thanks, again for hosting the NEW/100. I wrote so much more than I would have without it. I’m going to try to keep going at 100 new words a day.

     
    • maryvine

      July 2, 2013 at 8:48 AM

      I’m thinking about August for another one, Steph.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    July 2, 2013 at 9:05 AM

    Good points, Mary. Although sometimes my slow and steady feels like slogging through quickly-drying cement. 🙂

     
    • maryvine

      July 2, 2013 at 1:22 PM

      Janis, I feel like that some days, too, but then there are other days where it’s a hop, skip and a jump!

       
  4. Jennifer

    July 2, 2013 at 9:13 AM

    I’m going to try NEW100 one of these times. I really am. 🙂

     
    • maryvine

      July 2, 2013 at 1:23 PM

      Jennifer, maybe I’ll twist your arm later -)

       
  5. Judith Keim

    July 2, 2013 at 10:39 AM

    Congrats on your participation and word count! Slow and steady does win the race. I’ve always rooted for the turtle! LOL

     
    • maryvine

      July 2, 2013 at 1:25 PM

      Thanks, Judith, it’s a good thing for me.

       
  6. Corina Mallory

    July 2, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    I think it’s a *great* thing to do! I was reading a craft book this weekend and the very first chapter was a lesson on not making excuses. His advice was to set a writing schedule in stone, and for every day that you didn’t meet your goal, write 250 words on *why* you didn’t. The theory being that soon you’d be so sick of writing down the same excuses over and over again you’d stop making them and start meeting your goals no matter what. Now, that’s a little hardcore for me but I can see how it would work. Next time you do a NEW/100 I’m in!

     
    • Janis McCurry

      July 2, 2013 at 2:15 PM

      Corina, the NEW started at CBC because a member had heard about it somewhere else and we stole it. The no excuses part was great because all the “I had this” and “This happened” is not helpful to the writer. Why write 250 words in the negative? Why not just tell the number and not make excuses? That became the genesis of the exercise. It’s been very helpful to our members.

       
  7. Marsha R West

    July 2, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    Great post, Mary. I love this concept. I haven’t written new in sooooo long. I’m writing blogs, I’m posting on blogs, I’m rewriting the next book by addressing the “had” problem. (It’s apparently one of my favorite words. Does take some doing to weed out as many as possible. Sometimes they just have to be there. ) When I get # 5 sent off (the goal is before the first book comes out this month.) then I’ll work on edits for # 6. It’s possible at that time I can also actually start writing a NEW book. Novel idea! (Pun intended.) But when that time comes. I’m going to borrow y’all’s idea. I’s hat to have to keep writing down why I didn’t make my goal. And, I can get 100 done. That’s a very doable goal. BTW, Congrats on your word count for the month, Mary!

     
    • maryvine

      July 2, 2013 at 6:19 PM

      Thanks, Marsha. Good that you have so many ready or almost ready to go! Mine didn’t quite work that way. For this past month I started something totally new, but sometimes during the new challenges, I just stop editing and write some new stuff for NEW /100. You know, like the story that rolls around in your mind for awhile and makes you anxious to get at it?

       
  8. maryvine

    July 2, 2013 at 6:12 PM

    Corina, 250 words for excuses. Amazing idea, but would be inflicting it on ourselves?

     
  9. Maurice Williams

    July 3, 2013 at 3:51 AM

    Thanks for the motivation. I find myself being discouraged by realistic word counts and overwhelmed by unrealistic ones. Attacking the negative attitude associated with the lower end of the range seems like the way to go.

     
  10. Peggy Staggs

    July 3, 2013 at 7:51 AM

    Great reminder. NEW is a wonderful motivator. Unfortunately, I haven’t participated for a while. When I have, I find being accountable, and competitive keeps me on track and I get a lot more done.

     

Leave a Reply

 
