RSS

Adapting

18 Jul

One of the most creative tasks a writer pursues is finding time to write. Given that no two writers or life situations are exactly the same, it’s also an individualized pursuit. But here’s what works for me.

Once upon a time, I mostly wrote when I had a two hour block of relaxed, quiet time where I was well-rested, devoid of any headache, and feeling particularly creative. I wrote steadily, but slowly.

Then I had kids.  Two little boys.  So much for being well-rested.  Or knowing if I had two hours or two minutes to write.  Surely my productivity would crash.  Finding time to write seemed more daunting than fixing gaping plot holes.

But I discovered that I wrote just fine in five-minute bursts.  Indeed, my sleep-deprived brain seemed to handle that best.  Throughout the day, I’d plot and outline the next scene in my head.  I left my Word document open on the computer at all times.  When I could, I’d add a few paragraphs.  Sometimes I’d get lucky with miraculously coinciding naps and write madly for an hour solid.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, when I began creatively adapting my writing time to suit my current life demands instead of waiting for a perfect moment, I wrote a lot more.  Kids never stay the same age for very long, and as they’ve grown, I’ve practiced adapting my time over and over.

My family’s about to go through another big shift.  This will be my last post as a Gem State Writer blogger; we’re headed out of the Gem State, for happy employment reasons.  I’m going to have a new schedule and a new routine.  Finding time to write will require new solutions.

But that doesn’t scare me.  Just like plotting or characterization or prose, finding time to write is one more way to flex my creative muscles…and sometimes practice patience.

How do you balance your life demands — work, family, and other — to make room for writing?

P.S. Thanks for having me here on the blog.  It’s been amazingly fun.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2013 in Family, goals, time management, Writing Faster

 

9 responses to “Adapting

  1. Janis McCurry

    July 18, 2013 at 6:26 AM

    MK, congratulations on your new adventure. You will be missed.

     
  2. Judith Keim

    July 18, 2013 at 8:34 AM

    MK, we will miss you! I’ve moved around enough to know that change is good and each place you live has it pluses. Good luck! And you will, of course, find time to write because you’re a good writer!! I think if a person is determined, they somehow find the time and I believe it’s best to write every day, even if circumstances require you to do it in your head!!

     
  3. marsharwest

    July 18, 2013 at 8:51 AM

    Sorry you’re leaving this blog, MK. I’ve always enjoyed your posts. Good luck with the move and all that entails. You can still pop in here with comments to keep us posted on how things are with you and your writing.

     
  4. Jennifer

    July 18, 2013 at 9:27 AM

    We’ll miss you MK! Be sure to check in with us occasionally. I couldn’t agree with you more about adapting to new schedules with kiddos. Leaving your document open on the computer is good advice. Sometimes I think I can sneak away to write for a bit but things can change in a New York minute when you have little ones. Someone is thirsty, hungry, fighting, etc. They certainly keep things interesting🙂

     
  5. mkhutchins

    July 18, 2013 at 3:15 PM

    Thanks for all the well-wishes! I will certainly be back to comment on the blog.🙂

     
  6. Lynn Mapp

    July 18, 2013 at 3:17 PM

    I’m echoing what everyone else has already said. You are going to be missed. You have proven you know how to make adjustments. Best of luck.

     
  7. stephanieberget

    July 23, 2013 at 5:48 PM

    I’ll miss your posts, MK. Good luck in your new adventures.

     
  8. Peggy Staggs

    July 24, 2013 at 9:44 AM

    Good luck. We’ll miss you.

     
  9. maryvine

    July 25, 2013 at 12:06 PM

    I LOVE this post, MK. I appreciated your dedication to writing when your little ones were born. It’s a good idea to have the computer ready to go for five minutes, or whatever you can do.
    I will miss your posts. Blessings on your new life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
