RSS

Are You Ready for Indie Publishing, Part II

06 Aug

A Haunting in Trillium Falls_Mary Vine.jpgYou can find Are You Ready For Indie Publishing, Part 1 here:
https://gemstatewriters.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/are-you-ready-for-indie-publishing-part-i/

I’ve written and edited a book, asked other writers to read it and then I made changes. So, now I’m ready to start the steps to indie publishing. Yes, I wallowed with whether I should try to submit this baby to a publisher, but only sent it to one who rejected it. After some disappointment, I reminded myself that with three published books to my credit, this is the one I’d chosen to branch out with.

To be sure, I talked with other authors about the self-pub business. Many found success and encouraged me to do the same. An indie author referred me to Indieromanceink, an email loop for those who are, or plan to be, an indie author. It is a large group of writers that ask questions, or answer them, and there’s quite a bit of knowledge to be gained from this site.

An incredible amount of work to self-publish is necessary and it can be downright scary. First, you need to hire an editor to do a line-by-line edit, especially for a first time author. Some suggest two editors. It takes hours of time to read about marketing to prepare for launching out on your own.

There are two things I just don’t know how to do, and don’t have the time or inclination to learn. Number one is: Cover art. There are many indie writers out there doing it all, including the cover art and some a very eye-catching. I am lucky to have a designer, graphic production, multimedia, digital artist guy in the family to do mine.

Number two is to publish the e-book and send it to various outlets. I chose Wildflowers Books, a division of The Wild Rose Press to self-publish and distribute my book, A Haunting in Trillium Falls. The cost totaled $199 and the package includes a digital ISBN, conversion of the book into various formats, and distribution to the following retailers and partners:
Amazon Kindle
All Romance
Bookstrand
iTunes (iBookstore)
Sony
Kobo
Barnes & Noble Nook
Overdrive Content Reserve (distributes to libraries and various retailers)

Whether you are published first or not, marketing your book(s) takes time and scheduling time to write is the one thing most authors struggle with. It’s like going to school to be a special education teacher and when you get the job find out you are overwhelmed with so much paperwork that you have little time to work with the students that fascinate you so much. Yet, going the indie route with an e-mail loop has helped me learn volumes about the book publishing business which seems to change every day. And to top it off, you will earn more money on your own for that book you’ve created after hours of hard work.

http://www.maryvine.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Are You Ready for Indie Publishing, Part II

  1. Janis McCurry

    August 6, 2013 at 6:11 AM

    Great resources, Mary. I think you’ve taken a smart approach to the issue. Good luck!

     
  2. Jennifer

    August 6, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    This if very interesting and helpful information. It seems like $199 is a small price to pay for being able to keep the majority of your sales earnings.

     
    • maryvine

      August 6, 2013 at 6:18 PM

      Jen, I think also they put out a nice book.

       
  3. Stephanie Berget

    August 6, 2013 at 11:37 AM

    Very interesting about Wildflower Books. That seems to be a bargain to me. Thanks for your take on this.

     
    • maryvine

      August 6, 2013 at 6:14 PM

      I think it’s a bargain, too. Thanks, Steph.

       
  4. Lynn Mapp

    August 6, 2013 at 12:06 PM

    Wow, thanks for sharing this information. Keep us updated about this process.

     
  5. maryvine

    August 6, 2013 at 6:16 PM

    Yes, I’ll keep you updated. Thanks, Lynn.

     
  6. Judith Keim

    August 6, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    Good luck with this! It’s a big step but I bet you’ll be pleased with the results! Fingers crossed for you!

     
    • maryvine

      August 9, 2013 at 1:35 PM

      Yes, it will be interesting to see if I go back to traditional publishing or not. I change my mind constantly. Thanks, Judith.

       
  7. Corina Mallory

    August 9, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    Good luck! The cover looks absolutely fantastic! If I ever finish a book and decide to go this route, I will definitely be asking you for the name of your graphic artist.

     
  8. maryvine

    August 9, 2013 at 1:37 PM

    Thanks for the kind words, Corina! I will tell him you liked it.

     
  9. Peggy Staggs

    August 13, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    Very interesting and helpful. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
