RSS

Blogging Weekly

22 Aug

My publisher has a blog called Marketing Monday, and they post ways to market. Last week the suggestion was to create a blog by picking a subject, any subject, and posting once a week.

After researching various subjects, I decided on Rodeo Cohorts. One of the definitions of cohort is a companion or associate. That is what the equine contestants in rodeo are, companions and associates. I’m going to spotlight a different horse each week, including barrel, rope and dogging horses along with bareback and saddle broncs. I might even throw in some specialty acts and an occasional bull or two. These are the equine personalities who make rodeo such an amazing sport, and many have fascinating stories.

To start this off with a bang, I’m highlighting Gills Bay Boy, better known as Scamper. Scamper accomplished what no other barrel horse has come near to doing. He and his owner, Charmayne James, won ten Women’s Pro Rodeo Association World Titles in a row between 1984 and 1993.

Charmayne and her father bought the AQHA gelding from a feedlot when he was a six year old, and she was just twelve. Two years later they qualified for the National Finals Rodeo. They went on to win the NFR that year along with the WPRA World Championship and the WPRA Rookie of the Year.

Image

One of his most amazing runs came during the 1985 NFR. As they came down the alley to enter the arena, Scamper’s bridle broke. He ran the pattern on his own and won the round. In 1986 the pair won money in all ten rounds at the NFR, a feat only three other riders have accomplished.

Scamper ended up with the enviable record of ten WPRA titles, six NFR titles and ten RodeoHouston titles, along with many other circuit finals and major rodeo championships. He carried Charmayne to more than one million of her $1,842,506 lifetime earnings. He was retired after the 1994 season and was inducted into the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame in Colorado Springs, Colorado in 1996.

Because he is a gelding and cannot reproduce, James made the decision to clone Scamper. The animal genetics corporation Viagen performed the cloning, and the ensuing foal, nicknamed Clayton, was born in 2006, kept a stallion and now stands at stud.

Scamper died at the age of thirty-five on July 4, 2012 at the age of 35. James said he enjoyed good health to the end.

“He’s one in a million. He’s a miracle…I doubt there will ever be another horse like him.”

Charmayne James, describing Scamper, 1989

I was only fortunate enough to be able to watch Scamper run in person once, but I watched on TV many times. He was one of a kind.

I’m about four weeks into my blog and have had some new readers. Time will tell if it gathers in readers for my book. What ideas do you have for a weekly blog?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2013 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “Blogging Weekly

  1. Janis McCurry

    August 22, 2013 at 9:19 AM

    No contest. I’d do it on the wonder that is language.🙂

     
    • stephanieberget

      August 22, 2013 at 9:33 AM

      I’m getting more comfortable blogging. It’s a learned art, I think.

       
  2. Judith Keim

    August 22, 2013 at 10:16 AM

    I think you’ve got a good idea, Stephanie! Having a theme and an unusual one is interesting. Your great books and stories will nab more fans, IMHO. But it’s important that you’re getting out there in the social media world! Good luck with it!

     
    • stephanieberget

      August 22, 2013 at 6:41 PM

      Yes, it’s easier to blog when I have an idea of what to write. I love the animals of rodeo, so the research is fun.

       
  3. marsharwest

    August 22, 2013 at 6:36 PM

    Good job, Stephanie! You’re also writing about something you know which should make it easier. I love blogging. Started first with reading others’ blogs and then getting brave enough to post an answer. This blog was one of the ones I learned on. I realized the value of blogs is developing relationships.

    I found this post fascinating. You know I’m not an outside country kind of person, but I’ve lived in Texas most of my life and have attended rodeos on and off over that time. I always root for the animals, so this post was right up my alley. What an amazing horse! How lucky that little girl was to get to work with him all those years. Thanks for sharing. Look forward to future posts.

     
  4. stephanieberget

    August 22, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    Thanks for stopping by, Marsha. I love your blog. Blogging hasn’t been easy for me, but this one is just fun.

     
  5. Jennifer

    August 22, 2013 at 9:18 PM

    That’s an amazing story and I love the idea of a weekly “theme” to blog about. That would be helpful because it seems like half the battle is deciding what to write about.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      August 24, 2013 at 8:49 AM

      So true. I’m finding it so much easier with a theme. Thanks, Jen.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    August 23, 2013 at 11:07 AM

    I’m so random that I don’t know if I could stick to one subject.
    I do love horses. We have four living next door. Two quarter horses, one thoroughbred, and one pasture pet. Believe it or not the pasture pet is 33. I know, who knew horses got that old?

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      August 24, 2013 at 8:50 AM

      More horses are living longer, but 33 is very old. It’s nice to have horses where you can watch them sometimes, isn’t it? They are amazing animals.

       
  7. Lynn Mapp

    August 23, 2013 at 6:53 PM

    The one reoccuring message in my blog is don’t let anything get in your way, including yourself.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      August 24, 2013 at 8:51 AM

      That is something I have to remind myself over and over, especially now for some reason.

       
  8. maryvine

    August 25, 2013 at 4:22 PM

    That was such a touching story about Scamper. I think I really missed something in life by not having a horse.
    The only topic I could write about for any period of time would be what I do in my work – speech and language.

     
  9. Stephanie Berget

    August 25, 2013 at 6:22 PM

    Speech and language would be a very interesting subject, I think. I have a friend who just retired from the Arizona School for the Deaf. She’s had an amazing career. And as for Scamper, he’s the all time best barrel horse. No one disputes that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
