RSS

Daily Archives: September 19, 2013

September Meal Rescue

It’s September. School has been in session for almost three weeks. As usual, I’m overloaded, behind, and exhausted. I manage to get some writing done on the weekends, not much, but at least some.

I’m underwater and struggling to reach the surface. During this crazy time, cooking has taken a backseat. Squeezing in everything I’ve got to do is hard enough. I can’t deal with cooking dinner as well.

Truth time. I gave up cooking a few years ago. I occasionally dabble. By dabble, I mean once every few weeks I throw a meal together. I have an easy receipt that is delicious, easy to make, and will allow you time to get a few words onto the page.

Steph’s White Chili Chicken (Tonya Jeppson shared this receipt)
3 chicken breasts (frozen)
1 can cream of chicken soup
2 cups (1 can) chicken broth
1 cup water
2 cans diced green chilies
Add sautéed onions and peppers
Fresh Cilantro
2 Tablespoons oregano
Salt
Pepper
Lawry’s (optional)
6-8 bread bowls or just rolls

Saute onions and red or green peppers in butter. Then dump everything into the crockpot. Cook on low for 8-10 hours or high for 6 hours. Serve in a bread bowl. You can throw in frozen chicken the night before and cook on low till dinner. It’s so easy.
I like to add another can of cream of chicken soup along with an additional cup of water.

Writers get hungry and want a meal. Do you have a simple receipt to share?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2013 in Idaho