RSS

September Meal Rescue

19 Sep

It’s September. School has been in session for almost three weeks. As usual, I’m overloaded, behind, and exhausted. I manage to get some writing done on the weekends, not much, but at least some.

I’m underwater and struggling to reach the surface. During this crazy time, cooking has taken a backseat. Squeezing in everything I’ve got to do is hard enough. I can’t deal with cooking dinner as well.

Truth time. I gave up cooking a few years ago. I occasionally dabble. By dabble, I mean once every few weeks I throw a meal together. I have an easy receipt that is delicious, easy to make, and will allow you time to get a few words onto the page.

Steph’s White Chili Chicken (Tonya Jeppson shared this receipt)
3 chicken breasts (frozen)
1 can cream of chicken soup
2 cups (1 can) chicken broth
1 cup water
2 cans diced green chilies
Add sautéed onions and peppers
Fresh Cilantro
2 Tablespoons oregano
Salt
Pepper
Lawry’s (optional)
6-8 bread bowls or just rolls

Saute onions and red or green peppers in butter. Then dump everything into the crockpot. Cook on low for 8-10 hours or high for 6 hours. Serve in a bread bowl. You can throw in frozen chicken the night before and cook on low till dinner. It’s so easy.
I like to add another can of cream of chicken soup along with an additional cup of water.

Writers get hungry and want a meal. Do you have a simple receipt to share?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2013 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “September Meal Rescue

  1. Janis McCurry

    September 19, 2013 at 7:07 AM

    Just this morning, I put in a crockpot dinner. I use chicken thighs and cream of chicken soup (no water because with the chicken juices, I get enough liquid). I just dump the condensed soup on top of the chicken. In the evening, about 30 minutes before I’m ready to eat, I stir in some good old frozen veggies, peas, carrots, lima bean mixture. Then, I have a couple of meals for the week.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 19, 2013 at 9:21 PM

      Love it! Simple and quick.

       
  2. Judith Keim

    September 19, 2013 at 8:26 AM

    Lynn, great recipe. I don’t do the cooking in my house but I coordinate with the chef on what meals we might have. If we make a meatloaf (or my favorite ham loat) we make a lot. Then take the leftovers, cut into serving sizes, wrap individually and freeze. Same can be done with most things, including pizza, stews, soups, etc.Then on the nights you’re too tired to do much, pull them out, heat them up and voila!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 19, 2013 at 9:22 PM

      I hadn’t thought about pizza. Thanks for that tip.

       
  3. Jennifer

    September 19, 2013 at 10:32 AM

    Thanks Lynn! I’m all about the crockpot. I love making dinner in the morning while I still have the energy to do it 🙂

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 19, 2013 at 9:23 PM

      I know. Bye the evening, I’m dragging. It’s a wonder I can still string a thought together.

       
  4. maryvine

    September 19, 2013 at 2:04 PM

    Love the crock pot, too. Costco has st. Louis rubbed ribs you can throw in the crock pot. I put in enough for my husband and I, on high for 3 and a half hours. I suppose you could do them on low, too. Don’t add anything else.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 19, 2013 at 9:24 PM

      Thanks! I didn’t know about the Costco ribs.

       
  5. marsharwest

    September 19, 2013 at 3:55 PM

    I used to use the crock pot a lot, Lynn with similar recipes to what you’ve shared. We used to have a roast with pots, carrots, and onions every Sunday when we got home from church. Onion soup mix and Worchestershire (sp?) sauce were the keys, plus putting tenderizer on the roast the night before. Must’ve have cooked on high, Put it all in there in the morning. What I remember the most is how good the house smelled when we walked in after church. Yumm. Times change. We seldom eat red meat much and it would be a steak and not a roast if we were going to splurge. I microwave vegies and kind of do a stir fry with skinless chicken, olive oil, and onions on top of the stove. Pretty fast. Good luck with finding more things to cook fast, and good luck finding time to write while you’re so invovled in school. I never wrote anything except on the weekends when I still worked.

     
  6. Lynn Mapp

    September 19, 2013 at 9:25 PM

    Finding the time and energy to write…takes…planning and work, but I’m trying to make it happen.

     
  7. Stephanie Berget

    September 23, 2013 at 5:57 PM

    I’m a little late, but wanted to tell you I used to make white chicken chile. It is similar to your recipe. I haven’t made it for years, but I will now. Thanks for reminding me.

     
  8. Lynn Mapp

    September 26, 2013 at 5:50 PM

    I’m glad I brought the memories back!

     
  9. Peggy Staggs

    October 1, 2013 at 11:30 AM

    I have a bunch of OMG dinners. But there are two nights a week that I absolutely don’t have to cook…I work.

     
  10. Lynn Mapp

    October 1, 2013 at 7:38 PM

    Peggy, there are many nights I don’t cook. This is that quick and easy meal where there are plenty of leftovers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
