RSS

Finding Some Time

26 Sep

Finding the time to write is a challenge for almost every writer I know. Most of us don’t have the luxury of doing it on a full time basis. It takes some resourcefulness but if you put your mind to it, you can usually pick out a few times during the day that you can squeeze in a little creativity. This may mean sitting down to type, jotting down some ideas in a notebook or even just taking advantage of a few moments to mull some ideas over in your mind.

Always keep a pen and paper handy so you will be prepared when an opportunity presents itself. It may be while you’re waiting at an appointment, in the pick-up line at school or during soccer practice. While it might seem that the only spare minute you have in a day is while sitting at a red light, I don’t encourage utilizing this time for writing or daydreaming.

There are other less obvious possibilities too.  For example, you could have your child write with you. Keep them busy by setting them up with paper and colored pencils to explore their own creative side.

I’ve even heard of writers that plot ideas out with a dry erase marker while in the shower. Now that’s ingenuity.

Also, don’t be afraid to say no. Treat your writing time like you would any other job. Set aside time for it and make it a priority. It’s not easy but with a little perseverance and schedule tweaking it can be done. It helps to remind yourself often of how good it feels when you’ve taken the time to write. Every little bit helps you move closer to the ultimate goal of finishing that book.

Where do you squeeze in some writing time?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2013 in Idaho

 

10 responses to “Finding Some Time

  1. Judith Keim

    September 26, 2013 at 8:07 AM

    Jen, you’re so right. Writers usually don’t just have the time and lots of it to write. Writers, especially women, need to set limits on other activities and be “brave” enough to say “No” to others so they can make the time to write. Even if you’re not able to be directly in front of your computer, you can “Write” in the car by working out plot points or coming up with a character’s perfect dialogue. Good luck with your writing and finding the time to finish it!!

     
    • Jennifer

      September 26, 2013 at 10:37 AM

      Thanks Judy. Women do tend to try to be all things to everyone. I’ve completely changed the beginning of my story this last week and it all happened in my car.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    September 26, 2013 at 8:21 AM

    I process mentally my scenes, but I do better actually writing if I have an appt. away from the house to sit in a coffee shop and do it there. Too many distractions around the house.

     
  3. Jennifer

    September 26, 2013 at 10:39 AM

    I agree Janis – away from home is the key for me too.

     
  4. Corina Mallory

    September 26, 2013 at 11:23 AM

    For me time isn’t as much of an issue as just making myself sit down and do it. I think I need to set up a regular writing time outside of the house. When I’m at home, it’s too easy to do something easier than writing, like, say, ANYTHING.

     
  5. Jennifer

    September 26, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    I know what you mean Corina. It’s strange how appealing doing the dishes becomes when it comes to writing.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 26, 2013 at 5:55 PM

      Jenn, I don’t have the time. That’s not true. I do have the time, it’s the energy that’s the problem. I have been doing 15 minutes a day since conference. It’s slow going, but…it’s going.

       
  6. Jennifer

    September 26, 2013 at 8:57 PM

    Okay, Lynn – you and I are going to do 15 minutes per day. We can do it – right?

     
  7. Peggy Staggs

    October 1, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    The biggest boon to my writing time was the automatic dog door. I know it’s a little thing, but with two dogs and a cat who all want out/in at different times I can spend all that travel time writing.

     
  8. maryvine

    October 3, 2013 at 3:22 PM

    Lately after tv at about 8:00 or so-right before I go to bed.
    I love your idea of having some writing or art with your child.

     

Leave a Reply

 
