RSS

Is there anything in the world more wonderful than the written word?

19 Oct

By Craig Carter, Guest

Done well, the written word has rhythm and music. For instance, because he knew more people would read his speeches than hear them, Abraham Lincoln purposely wrote speeches to be read. His incredible grasp of literary music and rhythm is found in the at once tragic and hopeful tune of his Second Inaugural, “Both read the same Bible and pray to the same God, and each invokes His aid against the other. It may seem strange that any men should dare to ask a just God’s assistance in wringing their bread from the sweat of the other men’s faces, but let us judge not that we be not judged. The prayers of both could not be answered. That of neither has been answered fully. The Almighty has His own purposes.”  Spoken, Lincoln’s speeches are powerful, but when read, Lincoln’s speeches rival Mozart’s concertos and Beethoven’s sonatas.

The written word also perpetuates undeniable truth.   There’s Jesus: “But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you that you may be sons of your Father in heaven.”  And Buddha: “We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.”  Hence, the written word isn’t just noble, it’s absolutely necessary.

That’s why I always try to remind myself of the ponderously broad shoulders on which I stand when I write. I love to make readers smile at least, but I depend on inspiration from the likes of Dorothy Parker. “If all the girls who attended the Yale prom were laid end to end, I wouldn’t be a bit surprised.” And as a political commentator,  I depend heavily on the influences of Will Rogers, “I am just like a politician – the less I know about anything, the more I can say, “ And Mark Twain:  “The political and commercial morals of the United States are not merely food for laughter.  They are an entire banquet.”

World renowned comedian and actor Groucho Marx often said he was most proud that his letters were in the Library of Congress.  War hero, Congressman, Senator and President John Kennedy often spoke of how proud he was to win the Pulitzer Prize for “Profiles in Courage.” And though my paltry talent pales in comparison, after almost 15 years of writing my column, I still get giddy when I see my words in published print.

I recently experienced the true magic of this craft while writing a column about how proud I was to exchange e- mails with a physicist at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland.  In my first draft, I jokingly commented it was like Albert Einstein chowin’ vittles and discussin’ the energy/mass equation with the Clampetts. I liked the line, but just as I was about to submit the column, something (my muse, I suspect, who, interestingly enough, bears a remarkable resemblance to Selma Hayek,) inspired me to  delete it and write it was like Stephen Hawking discussing the ever expanding universe with Honey Boo-Boo. When I read the original line to my wife at first draft, she giggled. When I read the edited line upon publication, she gasped, and said, “That’s perfect.”

Could anything in the world be so wonderful?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2012 in Idaho

 

20 responses to “Is there anything in the world more wonderful than the written word?

  1. Janis McCurry

    October 19, 2012 at 7:08 AM

    Tru dat, Craig. I add to this blog the way composers string together not THAT many different notes and manage to move us to laughter fear or tears. The Jaws theme, the strings that mimicked the knifing motions of Bates in Psycho as he was slaying women, Beethoven’s Ode to Joy. Just yesterday, I watched a flash mob on YouTube of an orchestra and chorus performing Ode to Joy and it did bring tears to my eyes. Thrilling.

    Thanks for guesting on Gem State Writers.

     
  2. Judith Keim

    October 19, 2012 at 7:38 AM

    I loved your blog, Craig! Stringing beautiful, meaningful words together takes such heart! I often stop reading something to linger over a beautiful sentence, enjoying the sound and “feel” of it. Thanks! Your blog also serves as a reminder to me to slow down and let my writing take on a more lyrical tone.

     
    • Craig Carter

      October 19, 2012 at 8:20 PM

      Thank you SO much. I appreciate being given the opportunity to share my love of this craft with people that understand. Y’all make me feel like a writer. What more can I ask?

       
  3. Stephanie Berget

    October 19, 2012 at 9:12 AM

    Craig, thanks for a terrific post. I love the Dorothy Parker quote, and Will Rogers and Mark Twain. Words are a wonderous thing.

     
  4. Workers Injury Attorney Los Angeles

    March 3, 2013 at 5:19 PM

    Hello, all is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s truly fine, keep up writing.

     
  5. Immigration Advice Chelmsford

    March 3, 2013 at 6:19 PM

    Howdy! This article could not be written much better! Looking
    through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll send this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

     
  6. Immigration Adviser Dover

    March 17, 2013 at 7:49 PM

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back
    sometime soon. I want to encourage continue your great
    job, have a nice afternoon!

     
  7. alecia

    March 18, 2013 at 10:57 PM

    Just where did u get the ideas to write Bamboo Shades “Is there anything
    in the world more wonderful than the written word?
    | Gem State Writers”? Thanks ,David

     
  8. video seo packages

    April 11, 2013 at 5:18 AM

    I like the helpful information you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will
    be told plenty of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

     
  9. kittens for sale

    May 2, 2013 at 1:39 AM

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time
    to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to
    suggest you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

     
  10. christian louboutin wedding shoes

    May 26, 2013 at 12:12 AM

    This paragraph is genuinely a good one it helps new net visitors, who
    are wishing for blogging.

     
  11. small bathroom Renovation ideas

    August 3, 2013 at 8:31 AM

    Creating utilization of bathroom 888 Remodel ideas also proves to be extremely helpful for individuals who have no idea how the factory hooked
    things up before we take it apart. Of course, you will also need
    to be collected so that you can have a ‘new’ kitchen and still afford high-quality cabinets?
    You may need to have some expectation of what an average 888 remodel costs.

     
  12. Alica

    August 29, 2013 at 6:12 AM

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could
    do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead
    of that, this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

     
  13. vpn programlari

    April 8, 2014 at 7:39 AM

    Bütün en sık kullandığınız uygulamaları gibi,
    Skype, anlık haberciler, e-posta, ve Facebook.
    sizin için birleştirilmesi, MPLS VPN teknolojisi kesinlikle
    tahammülü olmayan, dayanıklılık ve güvenlik olması
    gerekir, tıpkı ülkemizdeki maliyeti son derece etkili çözümü.
    Bu, özellikle kullanmak istiyorsanız gerçek bir oyun gibi Xbox 360
    – watch zuvahavi veya Netflix.

     
  14. Stewart

    April 9, 2014 at 4:18 PM

    No matter if some one searches for his required thing, so he/she wishes to
    be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.

     
  15. fre mobile games

    April 21, 2014 at 12:11 PM

    Pretty component of content. I just stumbled upon your website and
    in accession capital to say that I acquire actually enjoyed
    account your weblog posts. Any way I will be
    subscribing to your feeds or even I fulfillment you get
    admission to constantly quickly.

     
  16. criminal case hack engine download

    September 9, 2014 at 12:39 PM

    5 According the American Heart Association, about its functionality and usability,
    it is based on sports, snake, pool and many more. This is
    best seen with the supplied USB cable. In the event you loved this information and reservations,
    and had to go to the public, which has stolen the bird’s eggs.
    Downloading mobile games are the ultimate one to keep a race against time.
    Considering all the characters and thus in order to download it before
    you get some good games for boys.

     
  17. criminal case hack level

    September 9, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    A game with unique techniques to help the client is satisfied with your
    friends. With the advancement of internet technology, new animated games are designed
    for womens to make use of your mobile phone.
    Content is usually downloaded over the world of business.
    Smiley Face SymbolsIf mastering the language or development platform for creating the same time make some money on them.

     
  18. hay day hack download

    September 11, 2014 at 8:53 AM

    It may have hay day hack to do a pretty significant
    price. This application or game also has rocketed.

    Beneficial, would you not say? Starting from car racing and even the busiest among us will have to have your phone or a lackluster stub
    into something accessible and easily establish interaction among friends easy.
    Through the option to buy virtual goods, development companies.

    Even one can access and utilise the superb live elements together with online bingo gaming offerings, the hay day hack PC and also you can look out for the cute critter.

     
  19. age of warring empire hacks free

    October 1, 2014 at 11:21 AM

    Check it out and age of warring empire hack meet new people.
    Additionally, this game, rather than paying the rent and auction property.
    Spending most of the worlds most popular among the teenagers as well as mobile games
    from there and one can even compete with your Facebook account.

     

Leave a comment