RSS

Doesn’t Everybody Know About Freezer Jam?

24 Sep

The raspberries are ripe! This is a big thing around our house. We finally have a big enough crop to make freezer jam without buying any extra. I’m a raspberry lover, and I tell you, it’s every bit as hard to find fresh raspberries as it is to find great tomatoes.

jam 013

I picked the bushes clean the last few days, had some on ice cream, yum, and set about gathering what I needed for jam. Of course, I didn’t have enough sugar. Which made me think, could one ever have too much sugar? Sorry, my mind wandered there for just a bit.

It’s been a couple of years since the last time I made jam, so I decided to check the internet and see if there were any new recipes. I found that the recipes had changed slightly since I’d made it last and it’s even easier that before. One website I found was Tastes Better From Scratch http://buff.ly/15H3hng, and something caught my eye.

In the comments, a number of people said they’d never heard of freezer jam. Yeah, it surprised me too. I grew up thinking everyone had a mother or grandmother who made freezer jam from strawberries, raspberries, blackberries or any other fruit you can imagine. I’m going to try the grapefruit next.

So for those of you who haven’t enjoyed the heaven that is raspberry freezer jam on your morning toast or dinner biscuits, there is a simple way to make it with no canning allowed.

jam 017

After extensive research, I found that the best recipe is the one in the box of fruit pectin. I used Sure-Gel, but any kind will do. They make regular and low sugar, and I made both to see which one is best. We like the low sugar, but even in that one, there is a lot of sugar. Don’t use less as it prevents spoilage.

The instructions are simple. First mash the fruit and measure out the sugar. Each type of pectin has a slightly different recipe, but in all of them it is important to measure exactly, otherwise your jam will come out runny.

Make sure you stir until the sugar is dissolved and no granules are left. This usually takes me longer than the recipe suggests. When all the ingredients are mixed, spoon them into small glass or plastic containers and let them sit for twenty-four hours on your counter. Don’t worry, they won’t spoil. Then freeze up to a year.

Since I have never learned to can, this way we can have great homemade jam all winter.  Time to enjoy the jam yourself or put it in cute jars and give as a gift.

Were you raised with freezer jam? What is your favorite flavor?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2013 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “Doesn’t Everybody Know About Freezer Jam?

  1. Corina Mallory

    September 24, 2013 at 7:17 AM

    My grandmother always had some raspberry jam in the freezer. It’s only in the last few years that it’s been something she just can’t manage anymore. There’s also a truck-stop restaurant just off the Interstate that serves freezer jam with their toast instead of those horrible little packets of Welch’s. Good food can come in the oddest environments; it’s not limited to the hipster locavore restaurants.

    I’ve never made it myself. I agree that it tastes fresher and more vibrant than regular jam, but I’m completely enamored of the magic of regular canning so that’s what I do. Plus, that’s what my mom always made and so that’s what I know *how* to do.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      September 24, 2013 at 8:40 AM

      I’ve never learned to can, so freezer jam and frozen salsa are all I do. That’s cool about the restaurant. Those Welch’s packets are awful.

       
  2. Jennifer

    September 24, 2013 at 8:33 AM

    My grandma always makes raspberry freezer jam too. I should try it some time. Wait, no. I’m supposed to be subtracting from my duties, not adding to them 🙂

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      September 24, 2013 at 8:41 AM

      It took me about an hour and a half to make a bunch of jam. Huckleberries make wonderful freezer syrup, too.

       
  3. Judith Keim

    September 24, 2013 at 8:41 AM

    Wow! A new idea for raspberries…my favorite fruit! Thanks. I think we’ll try it!

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      September 24, 2013 at 8:42 AM

      It is amazing. Jam or ice cream topping and it’s so easy.

       
  4. Janis McCurry

    September 24, 2013 at 9:38 AM

    My name is Janis and I’ve never canned, frozen, preserved any kind of food. Just not in my wheelhouse. Now, let’s talk about baking! That’s what I love to do. Oh, and the huckleberries we gather in McCall are great in pancakes and just about anything!!

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      September 24, 2013 at 10:58 AM

      A friend made Huckleberry freezer jam and it didn’t set. It was the most amazing ice cream topping ever. I looked up freezer jam to see if there were any new recipes and what amazed me was most of the people responding had never heard of it. Growing up, everyone I knew made or gave freezer jam as gifts.

       
  5. maryvine

    September 24, 2013 at 6:54 PM

    I used to can my jam and other things. Not enough freezer space. Good reminder as my husband wants me to make some freezer jam.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      September 24, 2013 at 6:58 PM

      This is the time of year for that. And I’ve frozen 10 apple pies.

       
  6. Lynn Mapp

    September 24, 2013 at 7:01 PM

    Steph, you’re tempting me. I only made jam once. It was the old-fashioned kind that took hours. I said once. I’ve never done it since. You’re making me think about it. Bad, Steph.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      September 24, 2013 at 7:23 PM

      If I can do this, you can. I’m not much of a cook, but this is easy.

       
  7. Peggy Staggs

    October 1, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    Next year I will have blueberries, raspberries, and rhubarb. Then freezer jam lookout. All I have this year is pumpkins and a barge load of tomatoes.

     
  8. Stephanie Berget

    October 1, 2013 at 6:05 PM

    Those all sound great made into freezer jam. I can vouch for the raspberries. It’s my favorite.

     

Leave a comment