RSS

Daily Archives: February 20, 2012

In Search of the Great American Historical

Happy President’s Day to our American readers. For most, this celebration of our great historic leaders is nothing more than a three day weekend, a chance to shop the sales and spend more time with the family.

As a writer of historical fiction, I naturally see it as a time to reflect on our country’s past. I would love to spend the day curled up with a great story of mystery, intrigue, and romance set in the time of our American Revolution.

Unfortunately, I’m having a hard time finding such a book. The romance world is ruled by tales of Brits and Scots. Only inspirationals are allowed to have American settings. For those of us with more secular tastes, that leaves a gaping void.

If you’ve read my previous blogs, you know how hard it is for me to find historical books for my tween daughter. Her search for historical fiction largely mirrors my own. At the bookstore and in the library, the children’s shelves are filled with reissues of old titles she’s already read. A search of the Boise library catalog for “American Revolution-fiction” revealed only one recent release, a story about runaway slaves with “superhuman powers.” Uh, no thanks.  We were looking for a historical, not a paranormal.

I’ve heard this discussed at both RWA and SCBWI conferences. Usually, my questions are answered with references to some long-  established author like Anne Rinaldi, Elizabeth Speare, or Linda Lael Miller. The general consensus is that publishers don’t publish fresh voices in American historical settings because they simply don’t sell.

It’s hard to buy something that isn’t on the shelves.

So here’s your chance to introduce me to some of your favorite American authors.

Please post your recommendations for American-set historicals, historical romances, or children’s fiction in the comment section.

I will read one of the recommended books and post a positive review for that author on Amazon and promote it on my twitter, facebook, and Google + .

The only requirements are:

1) It must be fiction set in the U.S. prior to 1900.

2) It must have been first published after 2010. I

I’m looking forward to reading your recommendations.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in historicals, Idaho