RSS

Daily Archives: February 9, 2012

2012 Resolutions, Part 4

My resolutions for 2012.

  1. Work on improving my health.
  2. Spend more time with my husband.
  3. Spend more time with my children.
  4. Spend more time with my friends and extended family.
  5. Spend more time taking joy from each and every day.

 

In my previous blogs, I wrote about my number one and two resolutions.  This week I’m hopping down to my fourth 2012 resolution.

Spend more time with my friends and extended family.

I believe in the enduring strength of family.  My books always contain this element.  I remember someone questioning why one of my characters would swoop in to rescue her sister from disaster.  She’s family.  What else would she do?  The person didn’t think it was strong enough motivation.  It was a no-brainer for me.  Family is family.

As a child, I longed for that picture perfect family depicted on television shows.  It took me years to appreciate the unfolding drama that plays out within families.  We are forever connected through our bloodline.

My mother is an only child, or so I thought for many years.  No, there wasn’t a secret baby.  My great grandparents divorced, and then remarried.  It’s like they had two families.  Aunt Jessie was five years older than my mother.  Uncle Spencer is three years older than my mother.  Aunt Tenna was nine months older.  It’s taken me all these years to realize Jessie, Spencer, and Tenna were more my mother’s siblings than her aunts and uncle.

My beloved Great-Aunt Jessie died in January of 2011.  My beloved Great-Aunt Tenna died on January 26th of this year.

My first memory of Tenna is her holding my hand.  We were walking down the street, my mother on one side of me, my aunt on the other side.  When we got to curbs they’d swing me up, helping me maneuver that step.  That’s how it was, both of these women holding my hand as I grew up.

Tenna never had children of her own; she didn’t get married until she was in her forties.  Her nieces and nephews were her children.

I would like to say Tenna was a saint.  She wasn’t.  That was Aunt Jessie.  Tenna was gruff and opinionated, and wouldn’t hesitate to set you straight.

My father was in the Navy.  Pocatello was always that one place I called home.  It was the place my extended family lived.  It was my safety net.

Now, I loved my father, but he had some strange ways.  He’d bought my sister and me school clothes when I was going into the seventh grade.  He didn’t see the need to buy us clothes again.  Never mind we were growing children.  I’m shaking my head at the memory.

Aunt Tenna bought me school clothes when I was going into the twelfth grade.  I didn’t realize how pivotal that was until last week, after I spent time reflecting.  I was one of those shy, quiet girls.  I did my best to blend into the background.  I hadn’t realized that my clothing played a part in isolating me.  The new wardrobe gave me a different outlook.  I made a decision not to blend, to step out of my shell.  My aunt’s gift gave me confidence, and I will forever be thankful to her.

I’ve spent time with family this week.  I am sorry for the circumstances, but grateful for the opportunity to see these people who were instrumental in forming me.

Family, through blood or the heart, is one of the most important things in life.  My stories will continue to reflect this belief.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2012 in Idaho